10 Tiny Price Increases That Seem Bigger Than They Are

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by jameswithers, Oct 24, 2007.

1. jameswithers

jameswithers New Member

I got to thinking recently about tiny price increases that seem bigger than they really are. For example, every time gas goes up about 10 cents, we all start bracing for the end of the world. Since I'm a freelance writer, I decided to put together an article about it: 10 Tiny Price Increases that Drive Us Crazy (http://www.associatedcontent.com/article/311837/10_tiny_price_increases_that_drive.html).

When we slow down and calmly think about how tiny these little price increases are, they don't really seem so scary afterall.
  2. joyfully

joyfully New Member

I like your name, that is my son's name too.

I have a thought about the 10 tiny price increases. I didn't read your article, so I'm just responding to what you wrote here. This is just my perspective and may be different than other people's perspective.

It isn't the 10 cents/gallon that I have to pay extra. It is the 10 cents/gallon times the millions of gallons of crude oil that concerns me. I do believe alot of this money is going to be spent on war in the MiddleEast.

THAT does scare me. As a US citizen, I believe I am being forced to support BOTH sides of the war. I am financially supporting our troups, and I am also supporting the oil cartel.

This rise in fuel prices causes a dominoe effect. The farmer planting the fields pays alot more for his fuel. This increase has to be passed along. We see it at the grocery store.

We see the price of airline tickets going up. Everything that utilizes transportation from the place of production to the place of retail sales is affected.

We aren't talking 15 gallons in our personal car, we are talking about tankers of petroleum and a shift of global power.

[This Message was Edited on 10/24/2007]
  3. jameswithers

jameswithers New Member