A FLARE: what happens to you when you flare?

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by valleyann, Sep 26, 2006.

1. valleyann

valleyann New Member

Hello,

I am still fairly new to the whole Fibro world as I was only recently diagnosed this spring.

And I would like to know what happens to others who have Fibro when they go through flares?

What are your syptoms? How long does it last? And how often do you have flares?

Thanks.
    Val
    [This Message was Edited on 09/26/2006]
  2. swiss

swiss New Member

I feel like I have thr flu- yuck!!!

Michele
  3. valleyann

valleyann New Member

I have been sick with what I thought was the flu since Saturday...first it started as body aches, my skin felt like it was dipped in acid. It hurt so badly. That continued for 3 days... then I developed a slight cough and a fever.

I'm still trying to get over it...not feeling my best. But I'm not sure if this really is a flu or if it is a flare? What do you think?

Val
  4. suz45

suz45 New Member

I recently came back tp the message board after a long period of having a flare. Welcome, you are not alone. Everyone has different symptoms, With my FMS i am usually fatigued and ache all over, however some people feel like they have the flu too. My flares can last from as little as 2days to weeks. The key for me is trying to pay attention to the body, not fight it and pace myself, reduce my stress, see my chiropractor if its a myofascial pain flare which is different from FMS. Keep reading I think you will find many answers here. I know I did back in 2000 when I was new to this disorder. Rest, BREATHE (as my daughter would say) try to improve sleep and eating, avoid caffeine, and certain food additives. I practice yoga for 25 minutes a day. Do what your body can tolerate, don't fight the resistance if your body is saying no. Listen to it.

Take care,

Suz45
    [This Message was Edited on 09/26/2006]
  5. valleyann

valleyann New Member