A Veterans story unusual but true

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by teranan, May 4, 2003.

1. teranan

teranan New Member

I am a Veteran but this is'nt about me. And it has a medical point so I will eventually get to it. This is about my brother-in-law a Vietnam Veteran. I originally was going to write a post about him negatively.How he infuriates me not being sick like we are.He has lived his life self destructively and is one of healthiest people I know.Then I remembered he once was very sick with something called Bushetts Syndrom.It is a very rare autoimmune disease.The symptoms are lesions that eat into the flesh. The other symtoms he had mimic FM and CFS.I remember that stress would bring on an attack. And that it was immune system not working right. He was exposed to Agent Orange in Vietnam and I beleive that was the true origin of his disease. I beleive they-( the V.A.) found a disease that fit the symtems he was having.Another story forgive my rambling fibro fog. I guess I should get to the medical point. He was treated with chemo drugs Pregnizone,Coltrozene.( I'm guessing at spelling) He was on these drugs atleast 5 yrs.Longer than he should have been, V A Drs goofed. My final point being he got well,in remission whatever.He was an alcoholic and smokes three packs of cigarettes a day to this day.No healthy diet,he eats what he wants.He recovered from a disease of the immune system by taking chemo drugs I have read just recently one or two ladies taking chemo drugs for cancers. There symtems of FM and or CFS had went away. There has to be something to this. Hope I made some sence. I thought this was worth telling. Terry
    [This Message was Edited on 05/04/2003]
  2. moonflowercat

moonflowercat New Member