A year out of college and LOST

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by rfarwell5, Sep 30, 2008.

1. rfarwell5

rfarwell5 New Member

I've been out of college for over a year. I have a dead-end desk job that not only exacerbates my pain, but is one that I find boring and mind-numbing. I've read all of the depressing posts on the boards of people who miss "the gold old days" when they were having fun and being successful in their respective careers...but what does one do when they are all but defeated by chronic pain and fatigue before their career even starts???

I refuse to give up. I want to do something productive with my life, but it is so much easier to stick with the job I have (which only makes matters worse). I go to work, go to my apartment, eat, sleep - repeat cycle. I'm miserable. My degree is in political science, but since my condition set in I have become obsessed with medicine and biomedical research. But I don't have the time or money (or energy...) to go back to school. And I have this defeatist (or realistic?) attitude that it is only a matter of time before my condition forces me to the sidelines.

I need some guidance! Thanks
    [This Message was Edited on 09/30/2008]

JEANSKI New Member

I understand what you are dealing with. I got sick before I could even finish high school. Talk about depressing.

I had to learn new ways to achieve happiness and a feeling of being productive. It is difficult when the world is going one way and you feel like you are heading in another direction.

The good news is there are a million different ways to live your life. Yes, we have limitations. But everyone does in some way or another. It's what you make of the life YOU have.

I hope you can find YOUR way. Don't stop looking. You will find it. Your certainly not alone.
  3. vannafeelbettr

vannafeelbettr New Member