AC77 or Madwolf ?

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by fibrorebel, May 30, 2003.

1. fibrorebel

fibrorebel New Member

Have just lately been dealing with extensive restlessness and am wondering if it is due to the anxiety issues (it only seems to happen about this time of night). Thought it was one of the many awful side effects from the prozac, but am not sure. Went off the prozac 9days ago, cold turk due to bad side-effects. Today is first day since that I haven't had the mother of all headaches. Doc said I wouldn't have a problem as the prozac leaves so slowly...
    was he full of it? How long do you think it will take to be rid of the prozac remnants? Sure appreciate you guys!
    love, Rebel
  2. Applyn59

Applyn59 New Member

HI,
    I am not a medical professional but I had to
    go off prozac due to severe hives. The dr.
    did not want me going off of it cold turkey. I was on
    40 mg for several years though. I believe I was supposed to taper down every four days. I can't
    remember the specifics. I think Prozac stays in your system for several weeks. Someone who knows more will probably answer.
    Good luck
  3. AC77

AC77 New Member

were you onit and what dose. what was your prior anxirty level 1-10 before prozac and now, today?

Prozac can last Up to 5 weeks in the system, some less.
    The higher the dose and the longer taken the more withdrawl.
    Prozac withdrawl seems rarer to me because of this. and in fact, is given in place of paxil due to its long half-life as a titration med. I used to take 60mgs and stopped cold turkey..no issues..just more depression.

We are each individual. If you think the Prozac was helping then you can go back on it and titrate down, as you feel ready. It comes in 10mgs tabs and a syrup, so going down on dose is not hard, like with the caps.