Acupuncture stories?

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by westernstar, Aug 27, 2003.

1. westernstar

westernstar New Member

I am new to this message board. Has anyone tried acupuncture to relieve FM pain?

Thanks
  2. EllenComstock

EllenComstock New Member

but my doctor suggested it. When I told him that my insurance won't cover it, he said he would bill it under something else so they would. I know it's not real honest, but I thought it was great that he was willing to do this so I could try this treatment. I am interested to see what others have to say about this before I try it myself.

Ellen Comstock
  3. MissRachel

MissRachel New Member

Hi Westernstar,

I have not had Acupuncture, but i'm at the point that i'm willing to try anything to get rid of head, neck and shoulder pain! Does it do wonders as they says it does?

Rachel
  4. Annie3

Annie3 New Member

I haven't been doing it for years, but for about eight months. The practitioner I see is Ayurvedic (originiates from India) and incorporates herbs in her practice. What I've found is that from visit to visit, the pain can be treated pretty well, but it has been temporary, lasting from a day or two to a week. BUT the longer I continue I start to notice "breaks" and dips in the pain level between visits. Kind of like when storm clouds start to break up. You have to be patient and committed to doing this for a while to see the benefits, and need to be willing to try things you may not be familiar with. The greatest benefit from this treatment is that she helps me to pinpoint underlying contributors to stress and pain levels and has helped me turn around some pretty destructive habits in some remarkably simple ways.