ADA Accommodations In The Workplace Can Happen

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by steach, Sep 24, 2005.

1. steach

steach Member

Hi Everyone-

I have some really good, actually GREAT news to share with all of you! I finally got an ADA accommodation at work! If any of you need an accommodation to continue working, IT CAN HAPPEN!

I have Fibro and CFIDS. Many of you know that I am a teacher and work in a prison. I was off on a medical disability leave for 17 months and just returned to work one year ago. Prior to leaving on disability and now, I have utilized FMLA time. The Family and Medical Leave Act (which is FEDERAL)allows us to take UNpaid leave from work
    -ouch- that really hurts the finances, especially if you use alot of time.

Since my return to work, I have been fighting what my body is doing/telling me; I haven't been working with it, but, against it. Mornings are just horrible for me- I have such a difficult time trying to wake-up at 5:30 A.M. after not being able to fall asleep until 2, 3, or 4 A.M.- and that's after taking sleep meds! I am also so sore/stiff that I can't function until I've been up for at least a couple of hours.

Anyway, after the past few months of missing more work than attending, and knowing that the FMLA would depleate to zero hours, I decided to apply for an ADA accommodation. To say the least, it has been a very difficult situation with my employer- but it happened!

I got the ADA paperwork from my employer (either personnel department or human resources department) and had my doctor complete it. I submitted the application in July and had to jump through many hurdles to finally get it approved- last week- three months later.