again - South beach diet vs Atkins

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by bigbrowneyesnice, Sep 25, 2003.

1. bigbrowneyesnice

bigbrowneyesnice New Member

Hello everybody,

I am new to this.
    My name is Anita, I am 32 and just got diagnosed with FM.
    Finally, after at least 20!! years of suffering. Without knowing what my health problem was I have tried going low on carbs. It really helps with a lot of problems.
    I just don't like the Atkins Diet. I am a nurse and I have to say this diet seems a bit unhealthy. I have read all the books and was on it for about 2 weeks. All the stuff you can buy at the healthfood store (low carb) really tastes good but it got so much unhealthy substitutions in it. I have read much about the south beach diet now and I have to say - it is not the same as Atkins!!!! It got more carbs yet still lower than a normal diet and it is lower on fat then the Atkins. It seems VERY! healthy and well balanced. I am just afraid it won't work for FM because it IS higher in carbs. I don't need to loose weight, just need to feel better.
    I would appreciate ANY input about that subject.
    Thanks a lot!!
    Anita
  2. j9miller

j9miller New Member

I have FM and was recently dx with diabetes. My nutritionist was very open to the South Beach Diet. She said she had no problem if I followed it as long as I did not go into ketosis which she feels is very dangerous for anyone - her opinion. Of course, I live very close to South Beach itself and have a couple of friends who have actually gone to the dr who wrote the book and swear by him and the diet. Like all things, it has to be a life style not a diet. Good luck!!

Janine
  3. Denise85

Denise85 New Member