Allergies

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by bioman85, Aug 31, 2005.

1. bioman85

bioman85 New Member

hey all,

Just got back from the allergist, and he told me I have a whole host of allergies (mold, grass, tree among the worst). He gave me some medicine to take (singulair, allegra, and a nasal spray of which I forget the name). He said it is quite possible that my fatigue is being caused by these allergies. Has anyone had a similar experience?

christopher
  2. twinkles49

twinkles49 New Member

I also have severe allergies. When they tested me for 60 different things I was allergic to all but a few. The worst one is grass. Doctor says the grass is like radioactive to me.

I take Pul-ma-cort (inhaler)2 times a day, Serovent(inhaler)2 times a day, Flonase 2 times a day, Allegra 2 times a day, Acculate 2 times a day and I get allergy shots every 2 weeks. Prednisone everyday and albuterol inhaler when I need it. I've been doing this for about 4 years now and all the medicines do help. Oh also Speria inhaler. goshhhh but that zapped my brain cells, lol

My doctor told me at the beginning of all this that severe allergies cause, what he called it, Chronic Allergic Fatigue Syndrome.
    The doctor that told me this is now retired unfortunely, he was one of the best. But he said that it was an old termnology and not used so much now.

He said that our bodies are so busy fighting off the allergies that it is exhausting to our systems.
    Which leaves us wide open for colds and such because our resitance is lowered severely.

My fibro fog is bad today and can't remember all that he told me now. But it will come to me later, probably in the night, lol.
    Hope this helps you a bit.
    Take care, Twinkles :)
  3. LittleBluestem

LittleBluestem New Member