Am I Insane?

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by brella, Dec 1, 2011.

1. brella

brella New Member

I literally don't know what to do. I've been taking it "one day at a time", as they say, but I don't know physically how I can anymore.

I'm in my first semester of nursing school and of course, my FM started to get the worst it's ever been about a month ago. I know I'm completely crazy for even attempting something so demanding.

I had an MRI in 2003 showing bulging disks in my lumbar spine. Now the pain in my back is worse and it recently started in my hips too. I had another MRI yesterday. X-rays showed nothing, blood work showed nothing. It may sound weird but I want SOMETHING to show up on a diagnostic test. I want doctors to know what to work with.

Today at clinical at the hospital my left hip started hurting so bad that it was causing me to limp. Quitting nursing school is the last thing I want to do but how will my body let me do it?

I can NOT life like this anymore. I'm only 25 and FM is already ruining my life...
  2. misskoji

misskoji Member

You are certainly not insane. I'm so sorry you are so young, and hit with FM.

That is one of the most frustrating things to deal with in FM-no diagnostic tests. Nothing really shows up in traditional testing, so the doctors assume we are OK, or that it is just "all in our head".

Have you considered a stand up MRI in regards to your back problems? Some doctors will not order it, and some insurance won't cover it-but chances are if there is something wrong there, a stand up MRI will show something that the traditional does not.

Nursing is a very demanding career, and the school is equally, if not more demanding. I don't want to discourage you from completing it, but I do hope you understand the importance of pacing yourself. Pushing too hard can lead to extended flares, or further disability. Whatever you choose, please keep you as the #1 priority.

You are in my thoughts.