Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by caroleye, Jul 14, 2011.

1. caroleye

caroleye New Member

I haven't slept for weeks, and it's affecting my brain big time. New Dr. gave me this & I took 10 mg last night. Didn't do a thing.

Anyone taking it, but have to take more than 10 mg for it to help?

2. Mikie

Mikie Moderator

I'm so sorry you are going without sleep. I have no experience with Ambien but just wanted you to know I'm sending up a prayer. I've been through this and it's horrible. Has the doc tried to determine why you are losing sleep? Perhaps a sleep study. That's how we found out what was interupting my sleep. That knowledge can really help lead to a med which will help with the core cause or symptom. Good luck to you.

Love, Mikie
  3. tig519

tig519 Member

I was taking ambien 10mg for about 10 years until it didn't work as well then I switched to Ambien CR 12.5mg. CR is a release version.

One thing I found is that both work better on an emptier stomach... meaning if I ate a late dinner, it would take much longer for me to feel the effects if at all. Taking at least 2hrs after you finish eating helps... the longer the better.

I actually think that's the reason there were all these reports for awhile of people driving while taking ambien. They figured it wasn't going to work for at least 2 hours so they go about their everyday things.
  4. luigi21

luigi21 Member