Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by lgp, May 21, 2008.

1. lgp

lgp Well-Known Member

After last night' final performance of the two David's, I thought about it alot, and something about the show made me uneasy. This morning, I went on line, and several articles I read confirmed my suspicion; does anyone feel that Cook tried to deliberately 'throw' the show last night? While his performances were all solid and respectable, and God knows I'm a Cook fan, he didn't knock me off my feet as he usually, and quite easily, does. Two columnists suggested that it's precisely because he's taken this as far as he wants to and really does not want to be tethered for a year to AI--would rather do his rocker dude thing on his own terms now that he has national exposure. It's one theory.

Another article actually jokingly hinted that Cook is actually terrified of sending Archuleta home to his dad in second place, or as Papa Archuleta would probably refer to it as 'first to lose' and browbeat little David. That poor kid....

The way I see it, it's a win/win situation for Cook. If he wins, great. If he doesn't, he gets to immediately do his rocker thing a la Daughtry, and at the same time, he can be relieved that little David will not have to deal with the trauma he may face in his father's eyes. And, it goes without saying, Cook can then spend a little time with his ailing brother befor he kicks R&R a**.

My final thought though, is Cook just may win--simply based on a survey I read. The question was, "If you had to buy a CD tommorow by Archuleta or Cook, which one would you buy?" The overwhelming majority responded "Cook." Go figure. It ain't Hillary and Obama, but it's kept us amused for awhile!!! And may the best David win....