ANA titer???

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by tinker-belle, Jun 27, 2003.

1. tinker-belle

tinker-belle New Member

Hi. I'm 29 and just got back blood results that said My ANA titer was positive. I dont have my rheumy appt for another 2 weeks--- I was wondering if anyone can explain more about what this is? Thanks.
    [This Message was Edited on 06/27/2003]
  2. schnoodle

schnoodle New Member

I have a positive ana also but I am not a doctor and would probably give you the wrong information. ANA stand for Antinuclear Antibodies. Some people with a positive ANA have Lupus. But not everyone. I don't have Lupus. I am sure someone with more information will post a good reply for you.
    Schnoodle
  3. tulip922s

tulip922s New Member

I too have had an elevated ANA,,,I guess this is not uncommon with those of us with CFS/FM. However, I am not a doc,,,,just wanted to keep your post "alive" until someone more knowledgable came along.

Best of luck. Tulip
  4. schnoodle

schnoodle New Member

Bumping for tinkerbelle
  5. schnoodle

schnoodle New Member

6. praisingHim

praisingHim New Member

I also had a positive ANA with an elevated titer. They did lots of blood work and everything else came back fine. They retested it a few months later and it was back to normal. Don't worry. I think this is fairly commen. It could mean things like Lupus and other autoimmune disorders, but an infection can also make it elevated and my doc said that some people just have false positives and it means nothing.
  7. Lynda B.

Lynda B. New Member

the prase, "You have a positve ANA" means absolutely nothing. Millions of people have them and it means nothing. Also, no one has explained how the titer system works. The ANA titer is a ratio. The higher the ratio, the more it MAY mean.

For example depending on what titer sytem you are using, here are some examples:
    1:40 1:600 1:980 etc.