antivirals/transfer factors/FFC

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by spazmonkey, Aug 25, 2005.

1. spazmonkey

spazmonkey New Member

I've been doing antiviral therapy for about 5 months now (Valtrex) and taking the transfer factor 6000.

All of this is through FFC. The doc wants me to go down on my antiviral meds and I'm really scared to do this.

My sore throat came back again...how can I get this to go away? It's constant now...so now I think one of the viruses are back.

When I go off the transfer factor (if i miss a few days), my stomach starts hurting again from the HHV6.

I don't think I"m going to go off of them just yet...does anyone have any advice??
  2. Mikie

Mikie Moderator

Most docs would likely disagree with me. I do not think antivirals and TF's should be taken together. I believe the antivirals destroy the transfer information which makes the TF's work.

It may well be that now that you are only on the TF's that they are eliciting an immune response from your immune system. That would cause a sore throat, headaches, swollen lymph nodes, and feeling fluish. This goes one as the immune system is being trained by the TF's until one's own immune system goes on a killing spree, wiping out pathogens. That's when the Herx begins and there is likely profuse sweating, burning and/or chilling, and diarrhea from hell. There may be vomiting as well.

If it were me, I would stay on only the TF's for a while longer to see what happens. That you are feeling this bad may indicate that the TF's are finally able to work.

To me, it makes no sense to put the transfer info from the live viruses into the body and then take an antiviral which likely kills that info before it can train the immune system.

Love, Mikie
  3. lbconstable

lbconstable New Member

Hi spaz,