Anxiety Attacks - Symptoms and Cures

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by Rockismom, Apr 22, 2009.

1. Rockismom

Rockismom New Member

I had another anxiety attack when I got to my office this morning.

The morning started out to be wonderful... until I got here.

At home when I was getting ready, I was enjoying my cup of strong black coffee and was in high spirits. I had a wonderful drive here and I even enjoyed the short walk into the building (which I have been dreading every single day for the past several months.)

This "attack" came on all of a sudden, they are usually the same for me, mimicking heart attack symptoms. I get a dull pain in my jaw and then in my chest.

I always hurry and take aspirin - or two depending on the dosage I have on hand, then half a hydrocodone and half an xanax. I also try to do some deep breathing and sit for a bit. Usually, these go away as quickly as they begin but it is still frightening...and annoying.

I tried to do a search on this here on the site but "found no results".
    Would you mind sharing your anxiety attack symptoms and how you "handle them"?

Thank you and God Bless,
  2. Shananegans

Shananegans New Member

I can feel an anxiety attack coming on 15 minutes before it's full blown. I first started having anxiety attacks when I became very very ill in 2003, mostly because I was living alone and 3 hours away from family and close friends. It was pretty scary. When they first started I couldn't think about anything stressful or upsetting without having an attack.