anxiety

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by mjbean, Sep 1, 2009.

1. mjbean

mjbean New Member

I know this question may sound stupid, but can you guys tell me what you feel like when you get an anxiety attack.. I sometimes think its just me and, it is all something I imagine the side effects from meds the pain. The anxiety is something that just came up in January and it seems like I can't get a grip on controlling it. Now that is funny! control with this dd..
    Thanks MjBean
  2. FibroFay

FibroFay New Member

I have General Anxiety Disorder. Have had this almost all myadult life. I'm 63 yrs. so I have some experience in this area.

Every anxiety attack I've ever had has been a gripping feeling of intense fear. Panicky feelings, with racing heartbeat, and fear that something terrible is happening to me. Fear of losing control. Fear that I'm dying.

I've gone to the emergency room several times because the anxiety was so bad.

I've taken medicine for my anxiety disorder most of my life, however I don't take anything at the present time.

If you think you may have an Anxiety Disorder such as this, may I suggest that you get a psychiatric evaluation to get a diagnosis. There is lots of good treatment for this nowadays. You don't need to suffer with this.

How old are you, mayI ask? Hon, my heart goes out to you. Anxiety attacks are pure ----!

Hugs! Fay
  3. Pansygirl

Pansygirl New Member

I have had these off and on over the years but were sporadic
    so didn't seek treatment till last month.

My panic attacks make my heart race, feel faint, can't breathe,
    hands are shaking and feel like I'm losing control or like I'm going to die.

My doctor has given me a prescription for xanax but he only wants me to
    take if I need it.

He doesn't want me to take it daily. grrr

I tried it 2 times this week and even just taking 1/2 the dose helped me
    relax tremdously, but I could still function which was good. And I felt