Any one have luck with accupuncture?

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by Jane57, Apr 26, 2003.

1. Jane57

Jane57 New Member

Hi I am new to the message boards, but not to fibromyagia. Have been diagnosed with fibromyalgia for 4 years. I also have asthma and gerd. I take a ton of medications. I have a new friend that wants me to try accupunture. She lives hundreds of miles away and her husband is the one who does the accupuncture. She said that he can either cure me or sure make me better. I am real unsure of this and I do not enjoy traveling any more. Has anyone else had any luck with accupunture?
  2. tansy

tansy New Member

and have done for many years.

It hasn't cured me. The three obvious benefits I get from it are:

1 My CFS seems to make everything go out of kilter and ac. seems to settle things down a bit.

2 When I've had a flare up due to an infection it makes no diference at start but speeds up my level of recovery at the end.

3 It would ease my GI tract and IBS symtoms for a few days.

Traditional acupuncture would almost certainly require quite regular treatments in the beginning (eg twice weekly), if you have to travel some distance you need to bear this in mind.

I know a lot of people who've tried it but it doesn't work for everyone.

Because I have severe CFS I can only tolerate gentle stimulation/treatments. In the early days stronger treatments were tried with awful results. So you need to make sure you go to someone who is qualified, experienced, and able to understand the need to proceed with care.

Cheers, Tansy
  3. Sandyz

Sandyz New Member

I gave accupunture a fairly good try. I went for about 6 months. I`ve got to say it didn`t do much for me. It gave me a tiny bit more energy but barely noticable. I did have carpal tunnel in both my wrists and it did release that.