Any success in getting diability?

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by hidlyn, Sep 12, 2005.

1. hidlyn

hidlyn New Member

Hi. I'm very new to this board, but not to CFS or FM. I'm 35 and this is my 10th year with both conditions. I resolve every day to live my life as normally as possible and push myself, like everyone else does, to do what I can each day without causing a flare up. At this point, I have 2 year old triplets, a husband and a house to run. I had to give away my beloved dog and parrot because I was not able to take care of them. We eventually had to hire help because as much as I wanted to I could not do it alone. If it wasn't for my parents helping out financially, we'd be up the creek without a paddle. I know there is no way I can go back to work full time and I know as a teacher I barely was able to manage as a single person. I just can't bear to think of going back to that. I know working means more risk of flaring up either condition and then not being able to take care of my family. Because of this, I'm looking into disability benefits, but I've heard they're almost impossible to get. Has anyone been successful?

Thank you so much for your response.

Heidi
  2. bossco

bossco New Member

I received disability thru my teachers retirement system. You didn't say how long you've been away from teaching. There is a 2 year window to apply from your last teaching year. This was 8 years ago now for me, don't know if the window is the same or not. good luck, the economic crunch from the illness is a tough road to go down. like we need more than the illness itself.
  3. orachel

orachel New Member