Any tips for those of us who have to work?

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by Princessraye, May 10, 2003.

1. Princessraye

Princessraye New Member

Hi

I have read a lot of posts and it seems most writers do not work outside of their homes, but I am sure some people must . I am a single person who has no choice but to work. It is pure hell to say the least. Does anyone have anything they do which makes it more bearable? I would appreciate any tips you have regarding making working and commuting more bearable and also, do you have tips for getting done what must be done at home? (like laundry, groceries, cleaning, etc)
    Thanks !
  2. bakron

bakron New Member

I work full-time as a supervisor of public health nursing in our local area. What I find that helps me is:

Taking my medications Celexa (antidepressant), Ultracet (pain medication) by 7:00 PM.
    Taking my Neurontin at 9:00 PM.
    Forcing myself to go to bed early – I try to right after I take the Neurontin.
    Making myself stay in bed if I wake up so that I may fall back to sleep.
    Getting up in the AM and taking a nice hot shower.
    Taking my multi-vitamins and minerals in the AM.
    Eating breakfast, even if I don’t feel like it.
    Taking Motrin mid-morning if needed and again mid-afternoon if needed, and taking a good stretch break every 2 hours through-out the day.

If you stick to a regimen, you’ll be more likely to have fewer days that are totally unbearable. However, if you absolutely cannot make it through a day, give the “boss” a call and request an early time off to go home and take needed pain medication and a nap. I’ve done the above, and will continue the routine as long as I am able to. It’s not easy; many times I’m tempted to “call in.” Many times I just “have to make myself do it.”

I hope this helps you. The main theme is to keep a routine schedule as much as possible, allowing your body the rest it needs.