Any working nurses on the board??

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by meowchowchow, Jan 27, 2006.

1. meowchowchow

meowchowchow New Member

I am in nursing school right now. When I started in the fall of 2004 I was in remission and feeling pretty good ( for me!).

This week during clinicals - I worked 2 days in a row, I feel like a mess. I'm SO tired, my legs ached after I came home from the hospital, I'm scared for the future.

I want to be a nurse so badly, to feel good, and to help sick people on a daily basis.

I was wondering how many of you are working nurses with CFIDS or Fibro.

Thanks,
    meow
  2. maggiemae55

maggiemae55 New Member

i am a lactation consultant working in a hospital. i have cfids and fibro. i work 3 part time jobs because i am a single mom with 3 kids, 2 in college, and their dad pays nothing for that.

yesterday i worked 11 1/2 hrs at a skills fair, and now work today, sat thru wed. mondays i work 3 jobs, tues and wed just 2. i have to, no choice. only a very choice few people at work know about the fibro or cfids.

i take only voltaran for muscle/joint pain. that's it. i sometimes struggle to stay awake at work, and can sometimes sneek a nap in late in the afternoon after work.

i try to exercise whether i want to or not, because it really helps my attitude. i have 2 dogs to walk, and a treadmill.

"ya gotta do, what ya gotta do" is my motto

warmly,
    maggie
  3. brie

brie New Member