Anyone ever quit Narcotics and feel better?

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by RicksChic, Sep 3, 2006.

1. RicksChic

RicksChic New Member

I currently take 40mg Kadian twice a day, (have been for 6 months), and have reached the point where I feel as bad if I didn't take it at all. Has anyone gotten fed up with Narcotics, and relied on supplements, and non-conventional methods....and feel better than before?

Today is the first day I've been out of bed in 4 days! The pain was so bad in my legs and back, that I could hardly walk. I had to call off work (I'm a nurse in a Nursing Home) and fear I'm going to lose my job, because the pain and fatigue has affected my work performance. I can't afford to fight for disability. And while I was laying in bed, in relentless pain, I thought the only answer was to "take the black pill" as one of my patients puts it...end my life. I'm 45 years old. What kind of wife, mother and grandmother can I be in this state?

Thanks for listening.
  2. glenda2

glenda2 New Member

iam with you i am just getting worse everyday and can't afford to fight for disability but i probably won't have a job for long if i keep comming home or calling in and i only work 3 days a week.
    all our bills are paid out of my husbands check but mine buys food my meds and what xtras i buy but can't afford so what do you do?
    let me know if you find an answer. hope you feel better take care
    glenda
  3. RicksChic

RicksChic New Member

Thanks for responding. And while I don't wish this upon anyone, it's somehow comforting to know there are others that can understand what I'm going through.

I've been reading this board for over a year and never posted. There was enough info to go through to keep me busy!