anyone had dangerously high blood pressure not from preeclampsia

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by 69mach1, Nov 29, 2005.

1. 69mach1

69mach1 New Member

hi this is a question for me about my ex-husband....

he just told me on thanksgiving his bp was like 200/120, and 180/100, he thought maybe the girl didn't put the cuff on right...well i think it was him being in denial.

well he went over the week end stopped at local drug store and checked it it was 160/like 80....he is 39 years old...

he is not obese or overweight at all....he smokes over a pack a day and he drinks even more that when we were married...he told me he said he is averaging 6 rums and cokes a night while working at the bar....he is also a pipefitter by trade...and on his last six monhts of appretice shippp///

he used to be inot body building, never really was found of cardio....he was atheltic played semi-pro footballl,,,

well he has been told by a couple of people he is bipolar...well he hasn't done anything about that...

anwyas i wondered based on your personal experience have you ever had bp this high and did you ever get it back down into the normal range....i have gone on mayo clinic and they say even 120/80 ids prehypertension and recc to bring it down 115/70.....

he is so young 39 years old....but i do not think he will do anything about his health personally....his father had double bypass when he was 52 years old and he has diabetes....family history of high bp also. his mother and grandmother....

well i am sort of worried about him i will feel a loss if he is to ever die...i will be ok financially because of the life insurance policy in his name and me as beneficary...but you know it is not only about the money...

anyways just wondered if anyone had bp this high. his doctor supposedly told him they would not do surgery on his elbow until they got the bp down....anyone had or no about this experience....