Anyone have good granola recipe?

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by joyfully, Feb 6, 2007.

1. joyfully

joyfully New Member

Hi. I'm looking for a nutritious granola recipe. Anyone have a recipe that their family particularly enjoys?
  2. alaska3355

alaska3355 New Member

I am a granola addict......this makes a lot!
    10 c. rolled oats, med. thickness
    1 t. sea salt
    2 c. raw wheat germ
    1 c. raw sunflower seeds
    1 c. raw sesame seeds
    1 c. walnuts, chopped
    1 c. shredded, unsweetened coconut
    Mix these together in a large bowl. In a smaller bowl, mix:
    1 c. safflower oil
    1/2 c. honey
    1 1/2 c. water
    1 T. vanilla
    1/4 t. maple extract (opt).
    Make a well in the dry ingredients and add the liquids. Stir until all is moistened. Bake in batches on cookie sheets at 330 degrees for 15-20 min. per batch. Cool and store in an airtight container.

I've been making this granola for almost 30 years........hope you like it!
  3. joyfully

joyfully New Member

Thank you for the recipe. It sounds like what I'm looking for in a granola recipe. I want something healthy and filling. Is the wheat germ that you purchase in the jar in the grocery store "raw"? Do I need to go to a health food store to get it raw?

Are the sesame seeds and sunflower seeds that are prepackaged "raw"? What do I look for to see if they aren't raw?

The word "raw" threw me a little. Do you mean not covered in salt, sugar, smokey flavoring? OR--do you mean not baked (or whatever they do to them).
    [This Message was Edited on 02/07/2007]
  4. morningsonshine

morningsonshine New Member

We love it!! I use a bit more honey because i like it sweet, and we've put dried papaya fruit in it!! Yummy!!

I copied it the last time she posted it, and forgot to thank her!!

Thanks Alaska! Great recipe!

P.S. I went to the health food store and bought everything in bulk, it was fairly cheap that way.
    [This Message was Edited on 02/07/2007]
  5. alaska3355