anyone have success with low dose naltrexone?

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by sabs, Jun 24, 2011.

1. sabs

sabs New Member

my dr is having me try ldn for fibro and some other issues.
    anyone try it yet?
    thanks in advance. sabs
  2. victoria

victoria New Member

I have been using it for the past 2 months. I have been feeling better and better, tho not normal by any means. There is a qualitative difference in how I feel that is hard to describe - less aching (felt recently like I was getting attacked in my joints, likely Lyme &/or other infection), and MORE ENERGY. I just moved, and held up way better than I thought I would. I don't think I could've done it 2 months ago.

The "standard" dose is 4.5 mg, but in researching it, if that doesn't work you may find less is better, as low as 2.5 mg. I also saw one suggestion that ultimately a pt could try it 2X/day 12 hours apart - not sure why that would work? since it is causing one's body to produce endorphins in the early morning hours, and supposedly that is the only time one's body will do that, that way. But apparently it has for some.

There's more information if you google "low dose naltrexone", including an organization for its use.

Oh - I also found that the benefits are increasing with time - so give it a few months. How I feel now is better than I did after only one month.

All the best,
  3. victoria

victoria New Member

After talking about it to others, I found out someone I know was taking it and, after giving it some thought, realized that she felt she had less pain but for some reason went off of it. I think she was going to try it again.

The only side effect that anybody seems to report is insomnia. I had a short bout of insomnia due to it I think, but I persisted, and now I sleep well with no problems. I do take melatonin & tryptophan, before and now, however.
  4. sabs

sabs New Member