ANYONE HEARD OF AHCC??

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by mrsjethro, May 4, 2006.

1. mrsjethro

mrsjethro New Member

I found this info on a "name brand" vitamin site and found the following information. It's sort of pricey, so I thought I'd see if anyone else had tried it first. It mentions having anti-inflammitory properties and potential uses for treatment of fm, cfs, and lyme disease. Below is the article. I would appreciate any opinions. At $80 a bottle (month's supply), I don't want to just throw it away!! I'm really new at this and very recently dx by gp, so I have no idea what I'm doing yet. I just know that the elavil and flexeril are not working for me, they're working against me...
    (Here's the article. I don't think it specifically mentions anything that's not supposed to be posted. I removed the links, author, list of published works, and company name.)
    AHCC-Your key to improved immune function

Fortifying one’s immune system is the cornerstone of good health. There has never been a time in history when our immune system is under so much assault—from the air we breathe to the food we eat and the lifestyle we lead. Is your body capable of handling the stresses of everyday life without help? To add to those assaults on your immune system, a new condition known as immunosenescence has just been described. This condition reflects the deterioration of the immune response that occurs with age and is the cause of increased frequency and severity of auto-immune, infectious, and non-infectious diseases that afflict us as we age.

Medicinal mushrooms and their extracts have been reported in the scientific literature to have a variety of biological effects including immunomodulation, anti-tumor properties and beneficial influences on blood sugar regulation, serum lipids and blood pressure.

Activating parts of the immune system