Anyone tried Guaifenesin?

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by HelenSpremulli, Jan 9, 2003.

1. HelenSpremulli

HelenSpremulli New Member

Hi, my name is Helen and I am new to this support group/message board. I've been diagnosed with
    fibromyalgia and have been suffering with it for about 5 years. It first started from a repetitive strain
    injury involving my right shoulder and arm. Now I have pain in my lower back, groin and legs. I've been
    checked so many times for different causes, but everything turns out normal. Although, I think the pain
    lead to the discovery of endometriosis (for which I had laser surgery and recently had a laparoscopy
    confirming that the endometrosis is completely gone) and medullary sponge kidney (calcifications in the
    middle of both my kidneys but of which I should not have pain).
    Over the holidays I got so much worse, that I can barely sit. I have to stand to eat my meals and lean
    back to sit at a desk for any length of time. I'm at the point where I want to try anything and everything
    to get better since various medications, acupuncture, physiotherapy, moist heat, exercise etc. don't
    really help.
    I recently read about guaifenesin (experimental therapy) and wondered if any of you had given it a try
    and what the results were.
    Your partner in pain,
    Helen
  2. Mikie

Mikie Moderator

Welcome to our board. I'm glad you found us.

There are a few of us here on the Guai treatment, including me. I have been on the treatment for about 1 1/2 years and am about 3/4 reversed. Unfortunately, I also have CFIDS, so even though I seldome need anything for pain anymore, I still suffer some fatigue and cognitive problems.