aqua therapy

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by najerry, Apr 18, 2006.

1. najerry

najerry New Member

A new rheumy sent me for water physical therapy. I went for the first time yesterday. She was very gentle. So much that I really didn't think I was doing anything. I can't move!!! I was up all nite with knee pain and that over all achiness. I'm supposed to go again tomorrow. I'm not sure if I'll be able . Has anyone tried this. It's just very slow movement in the water. The water is supposed to move you.
  2. IntuneJune

IntuneJune New Member

I am a certified aquatics instructor.

Water is a wonderful environment for us.

There are many factors which might feed into your all over stiffness and your knee pain, I will just mention a few and will relate this to my experience since I have had fibro for 25 years and have worked out in the water that long.

You and I and folks here on the board will have a different response to exercise....no matter which environment we "exercise" in.

Movement in the water whether passive or active is STILL moving the joints, tendons, muscles, fascia.

As fibrofolk, movement can induce a flaring of achiness and pain.

Factors that entered into your session may be, how long were you in the water, what was the water temperature, what was the intensity or duration/reps of the movements.

We actually have to find our fine line.....and fine it is.... I have found walking into a warm pool is WONDERFUL, but when I "work out" I may flare because I have not had the benefits of the cooler water keeping the temperature in my muscles down.

If the water to too cold, walking into the water will cause a stiffening-tightening of the muscles, then when I start to move, I feel as though I am damaging these stiff muscles.

You can find that fine line.

Exercising, passive or active, works similarly, you need to find the fine line.