Are any of you school teachers or were teachers?

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by tazzycat, Sep 17, 2003.

1. tazzycat

tazzycat New Member

I was wondering are any of my new friends out there teachers OR were teaching and cannot handle the mult tasking all day? Also do noises bother any of you? It seems like there is something shoots up my spine whenever I hear loud noises. I also get tensed up whenever I come around a corner of the room and someone is there, don't know if that's vision or central nervous system or some other strange reflex.
  2. TaniaF

TaniaF Member

I was an early childhood teacher and in my 30's was always getting sick. My doctor called it an "occupational hazzard."
    I think this was the beginning of my CFS/FM. I'm 50 now and still have this DD. Yes, noises and lights drive me crazy.
    Tania
  3. michaele

michaele New Member

I am a school speech therapist. Now I don't work. However, the noises, lights, and pace wore me out. I felt like I'd been through the ringer by the time I left (and before!) All that is too much for me and I found my pain and fatigue interfering with my job so much that I couldn't do it anymore. Awaiting diability. I pray I get it bec. I was the main breadwinner. We've had major financial problems since I quit. Since I was my own business and contracted with districts the last 5 years, I had no benefits from the school(s). Bummer-----I used to work for districts full time, but found contracting more lucrative and flexible. So, I DON'T know how teachers or any school personnel do it, esp. if they have kids at home (i have 4). The noise never stops!
    Michaele
  4. Lana56

Lana56 New Member

I was a teacher and loved my job.I know if I was working right now I think the noise would have bothered me.I need a peaceful environment myself.I have not worked in twelve years. Lana56
    [This Message was Edited on 09/18/2003]
  5. Adl123

Adl123 New Member