Asa...a hymn. Please?

Discussion in 'Spirituality/Worship' started by fivesue, Apr 8, 2006.

1. fivesue

fivesue New Member

"Fairest Lord Jesus." I love that song, and it helps me put into perspective all that this world offers.

Thank you for your giving spirit.

You said that you had retired from a church? What was your position? Do you miss it now?

Thanks again, and hope your weekend is "Fair."

Sue
  2. Asatrump

Asatrump New Member

It is 9:45 Saturday night, my husband is sleeping so I won't play the piano right now. But tomorrow I will play "Fairest Lord Jesus" for you.

There are so many special hymns that come to mind this Holy Week. One I never get through without tears is: "Were you There?"

I worked for various churches since I graduated from college. This year is my 40th college re union. I was either choir director or organist, or both.

The organ is the King of instruments, and yes I do miss playing it. I loved it, especially the times I would be alone in the sanctuary filling it with sound. A very powerful feeling, but one I always played with reverance for the particular piece of music.

I found my body didn't like an ice cold sanctuary on a Sunday morning, or the hour long rehearsals during the week. My back would be screaming, fms flaring. Many weeks I simply looked to the Lord and said : God this is your gig, find a way to get me there. Some weeks I could barely walk, other weeks my ulcer was making me nauseas and other weeks IBS made it tricky to sit for so long. The last job I did 14 years, and missed only 2 Sundays due to illness. I used to joke and say that God led some people, but me..... he always booted the seat of my pants and got me where I needed to be. Funerals were the worst. Hard to concentrate and perform with tears.