Attention NitaLynn & others that may work retail......

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by truthseeker67, Mar 25, 2003.

1. truthseeker67

truthseeker67 New Member

Greetings,

I have been doing in-home daycare since my children were born. My youngest will be going to school this Fall and it would truly help our financial situation to go back into retail management. However, I was recently dx'd with FM. I have 10+ years experience in management, display, ect. and a degree in Fashion Merchandising.

So, here are a few questions.....

*Did you tell your employer that you have this?

*What kind of retail?

*Are you able to sit occassionally?

*What about dealing with symptoms of carpal tunnel and the like?

Thanks to all who reply with thoughts, information, or ideas!

Blessings,
    Truth
  2. AnnG

AnnG New Member

Just last November I resigned a retail management position. The money and benefits were fantastic and I probably never would have left on my own. I was ordered by my Dr to go on med leave because of neck problems. The longer I was out, the happier I was and finally, I handed in my resignation. Sometimes I ache when I think of the money I gave up but when I remember the stress and constant physical activity I endured, I just can't go back.

My way of coping at work was "grin and bear it". The only chance to sit was during breaks or while doing my paperwork. Most of my day was spent running and moving constantly. By the end of the day I would literally pull myself up the stairs by hanging off the handrail.

I think you would have trouble being hired if you were open about your FM (a sad truth). At the same time, if you started putting limits on your activities after being hired, they would consider that you were hired under false pretences and would be tempted to let you go.