Attn. Book Club;

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by pat460, Apr 27, 2007.

1. pat460

pat460 New Member

I love to read, can anyone join or is this a private club? What are the rules and how do you all go about the whole thing? If I'm overstepping the bounds here just ignore my post and I'll get it. I've always wanted to be in a book club but, because of the FMS and other medical problems I don't get out too much.

Thanks, Pat
  2. kholmes

kholmes New Member

Anyone can join, even people who listen to the book on tape, watch the movie version, if there is one, or just want to chat!We're a very laid-back book club, always aware of the ebb and flow of this illness and how it can restrict our reading or allow us time to read more. We've been going for a year now.

Usually, we suggest and vote on a book (I need to post that now), then read the book and discuss it during the last week of the month.

Hope you join us! I'm a former English teacher, now disabled with ME/CFS, but I'll never assign a paper!

About once a month, someone, not always in the Book Club, posts a "What are you reading right now?" thread.

[This Message was Edited on 04/27/2007]
  3. rockgor

rockgor Well-Known Member

Welcome to the book club. The first rule is: anyone who asks how to become a member, is a member.

In the past we had stricter standards. You had to own your own socks. Or know someone who owned his own socks.

We started last year so we haven't read too many books yet. Ken just posted a request for suggestions re: our next book to read. New or old, doesn't matter.

I stopped at the Goodwill on my way home from the library today. Picked up a copy of "Why People Believe Weird Things" by Michael Shermer. Should be a refreshing change from all the thrillers I read.

The porch is a good place to read. You can drop in there too.

4. pat460

pat460 New Member

I'll definitely join you all in May. Can't wait to see what we will be reading.