Attn: Singers

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by kramlow, Mar 26, 2003.

1. kramlow

kramlow New Member

I've noticed that there are some singers on the board and have a question for you: Other than hoarseness, have any of you noticed a problem with shortness of breath, meaning, you're not able to hold the notes as long as you were able to hold them before contracting CFS/FM? I'm 36 and have found I can't hold the notes as long as the 70+ yr. olds in a choir I recently sang with! I should also note that I work out regularly - inspite of the CFS and the accompanying misery (which is worse if I don't exercise regularly), so I am in (relatively) good physical shape. I never worked out before the CFS and had plenty of vocal power and breath. I also noticed my abdominal muscles, which used to be very strong, shake like crazy when I do abdominal work, even though I've been doing them for over 5 years (!). They never did that before. I don't get it.
  2. Mikie

Mikie Moderator

Not only is my voice hoarse, but the range of notes is greatly diminished. I get short of breath too. The most puzzling thing is that now I can almost not sing in tune. It's like my brain knows the note but my body cannot produce it. I sound like a reject from American Idol.

Love, Mikie
  3. kramlow

kramlow New Member

"I sound like a reject from American Idol." LOL! I laugh because I understand. I used to be much worse-off, although I'm finding my voice seems to be getting stronger. The only problem is, I don't have the breath to get it out! (American Idol - what a horrible show! I can't bare to watch it.)
    [This Message was Edited on 03/26/2003]
  4. FrustratedSoprano

FrustratedSoprano New Member