Battle with Chronic Fatigue - Help

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by golferdame1, Sep 15, 2005.

1. golferdame1

golferdame1 New Member

I'm new to this, but not new to chronic fatigue. I've battled with this since I had mono about 9 years ago. I have had a recent re-occurrence of the mono virus which exacerbated the fatigue I thought I had under control. I am on so much medication, blood pressure medication, mood stabilizer, effexor, provigil, just to stay awake and moving. What else can I do to eliminate the fatigue. it is so bad that most days, I go home from work and simply go right to bed. I can only handle a certain amount of stress, my threshold for things has surely decreased. Help, please. Am I not on the right medications? Some days, I feel pretty good, but some days, I feel so awful I could just die. I hate the thought of wondering in the morning just exactly how am I going to feel that day. My allergies are horrible. I'm just a mess.
  2. Smiffy

Smiffy Member

The only way to deal with this is to pace yourself i.e. rest after each short activity. You obviously can't do this whilst working.

It sounds as if your job is detrimental to your health. Your health can & will get worse if you continue like this.

Is there any way that your doctor can support you giving up work, or even reducing your hours? Can you claim any sickness benefits if you do?
  3. golferdame1

golferdame1 New Member

My day starts at 5:00 a.m., and I actually begin at 8:00 a.m. I work all day until 5:00 p.m. I work in an office, a very busy, sometimes stressful environment. As much as I do try to pace myself, the day sometimes totally wears me out, but I don't know how I've done it. I don't know that not working is the answer for me, becuase there are good days too and I am by myself.
  4. Pianowoman

Pianowoman New Member