been cryin'

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by susabar, Jan 22, 2003.

1. susabar

susabar New Member

I am scheduled to go back to work Monday, and if that isn't difficult enough one of my co-workers called me today to give me a " heads up" that certain people aren't going to be very supportive. In fact there are a couple people I work with that don't even believe there is anything wrong with me!!! apparently they are angry and resentful over the time I've taken off. The ironic thing is we are in the healthcare profession !!! I've been crying because I feel like I am going to need support going back to my full-time job, instead I am being kicked when I'm down.

Thanks for listening!!!
    Love Sue
  2. kadywill

kadywill New Member

I'm a nurse and on medical LOA right now, too. I have a "friend" who calls periodically to tell me what the others are saying about me and the reasons I am out of work. One even said she thought someone should "notify the law" that I take pain meds. in case I were to be out driving. Can you believe this???????
    People can be so spiteful and the stress it causes us is counterproductive to our getting better. Would it have been easier not to have received the "heads up" from your co-worker? Sometimes I don't think I want to know what all they're saying about me and my problems, but there is ALWAYS someone around who'll tell me anyhow!
    This is rough and some people ARE jealous that they *have* to work while others can just "pretend they're sick and stay home!" I'd love for them to spend one day in my body and tell me what they think afterward.
    I'm so sorry for you because going back is hard enough without this hanging over your head. I could say, "Don't worry about it" but that would be so hypocritical of me and I won't, but I will say that you CAN rise above it and try to remember the support you have here....we won't kick you while you're down, believe me. Good luck, Sweetie, and may God Bless You!
    Love,