Best sleep position

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by klarry, Jun 25, 2003.

1. klarry

klarry New Member

I am wondering if there is a preferred sleep position for FM sufferers. I can't seem to retrain my body, and always seem to end up on my stomach. This is horrible for my lower back. Does anyone have any suggestions?
    On another note, I can't thank you all enough for the support of this web site. I am new to the message board, and can't believe it took me so long to find it. I feel like I finally have validation for my disorder. Just knowing that others can relate to my pain is so wonderful. Healthy people really don't get it. I was told by someone yesterday that this was all in my head, and that I should practice mind over matter. As if they knew...
    Try to have a joyous day, despite our aches and pains!
  2. ggks

ggks New Member

I have found, for me, that I use several pillows of different sizes. A square one to put between the knees, a large one behind my back and a couple in front of me to hug, it helps. I start out by laying on my left side because it seems to help the feeling of heart burn. If I don't fall asleep in that position I usually turn over to the right side and really try to relax by taking deep breaths and wiggling my toes. I find the pillows are a real help.
  3. LSLE

LSLE New Member

Hi,

I simply cannot sleep on my back. I have to have all my weight off of my pressure points. I'm a stomach sleeper, mostly. Is this pretty common?
  4. Lynna62

Lynna62 New Member

This is a highly variable subject and I'm sure everyone has their favorites. I usually go from sleeping on one side to the other. One thing I learned the hard way is to keep myself from curling into a fetal position. If I do this I wake up in agony (I must tense up when I do this).