Betablockers, problems with? I'm new to this medication

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by mom3333, May 25, 2008.

1. mom3333

mom3333 New Member

I have been having tachycardia off and on for a few years, usually does not last long (couple days) and then subsides for some time. In the past few months I have had a rapid heart rate that is pretty consistent day after day, and more often causing increased fatigue. When I would rest, heart rate is still high.

I started taking magnesium and fish oil months ago to try and help this problem, but with no success. I then went to the doctor a little less than a week ago who ordered ekg, echo (ultrasound of the heart), and 24 holter monitor. The ekg showed things were alright (they did witness the rapid heart rate), I have not recieved results for holter, but the echo showed I have a mild tricuspid valve regurgitation. It is mild and they said usually many can go without any treatment but since I was symptomatic (rapid heart rate and shortness of breath) that I needed to start taking beta blockers. To be exact, I was prescribed Toprol XL, I was told to take it at night as it will cause drowsiness but instead I was exhausted before taking it then after, I was wide awake. In addition to the unwanted insomnia (I have that issue on my own without a med side effect), my hands and feet were freezing! I usually have cold hands/feet and they will turn blue at times so I figure that my suspicion of Raynaud's for some time is becoming more obvious, or then I just have horrible circulation w/out Raynaud's. After I took that Toprol, the cold was intolerable. I put on a sweater and thick socks and I was still shivering in bed. I have a hard time sleeping with socks, or when I'm too warm, but I was unusually cold with hands/feet more so than ever.