Bruxism

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by debpuma, Sep 11, 2002.

1. debpuma

debpuma New Member

Hi....I am new to the message boards and have a question for all. I can deal with the day to day aches and pain plus fatigue from the fibromyalgia, can anything REALLY help the bruxism? I am currently talking both flexeril, and clonazepam at night.
  2. debpuma

debpuma New Member

Hi....I am new to the message boards and have a question for all. I can deal with the day to day aches and pain plus fatigue from the fibromyalgia, can anything REALLY help the bruxism? I am currently talking both flexeril, and clonazepam at night.
  3. Shirl

Shirl New Member

Hi Deb, welcome to the board. I don't have the problem with teeth grinding, but a lot of our members do.

It seems like it is part of Fibro, but I don't think it has been proven yet, but it has been mentioned in a few articles on CFS/FM.

Many use mouth guard for this. I am sure others will be sharing their experience with you.

Again, welcome to the board.

Shalom, Shirl
  4. dolsgirl

dolsgirl New Member

I also have bruxism. I had braces for three years in my early forties and thankfully have to wear retainers, I'll put them in as soon as I post this....the retainers stopped me from grinding my teeth. dolsgirl
  5. Magnolia

Magnolia New Member

I have worn the caps off my permanent teeth and have worn the "teeth" themselves off my partial plate.

When I am going through a period of particularly SEVERE bruxism, I wear a mouth guard (not one of the expensive ones fitted by a dentist. It is one which my son purchased for me at the Sports store for $2.00).

I also have an ice pica which I have to give in to. I crunch ice all day long. I feel this partially helps with the need to "grind" my teeth. Of course, this contributes to the loss of my caps and teeth, but "a man's gotta do what a man's gotta do".