Calling ALL Cooks I have a question about Spinach

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by fibrohugslife, Jun 4, 2006.

1. fibrohugslife

fibrohugslife New Member

I have found that I really like spinach (my body feels a little better after eating it) and I would like to eat it in my salads and I am still learning how to cook here.

Do I have to lightly steam the spinach before adding it my salas, or is it okay to eat it raw just like how it is?

I figured that it is in the lettuce groups and I should be able to eat it as it is but I am not sure.

I eat about 4-5 salads a week, either as a side dish or a main course.

In my salad I include dried seaweed, dried cranberries and once in awhile I add crushed almonds.

Anyway please let me know your thought everyone, as I would greatly appreciate it.
  2. ilovecats94

ilovecats94 New Member

You buy baby spinach and add that to salads. The more mature spinach you would have to pull the stem off before you put it in a salad.

Yes, put it raw in a salad, just like lettuce. Just wash it or rinse it well and enjoy.
    I personally prefer romaine lettuce with it also. :)

Hugs,
    Faye
  3. fibrohugslife

fibrohugslife New Member

Oh my gosh thank you so much!

I am breathing a sigh of relief over here as I really didn't want to cook it. LOL. I prefer my salads to be fresh, crispy, and crunchy. I am trying to keep all of the vitamins and minerals in the spinach. I do have fresh romaine lettuce too.

The spinach and romaine lettuce I bought are not prepackaged but some of the other lettuces I also hought today are.

I do need to a little research on the lettuce family to find out what minerals and vitamins each type has. Then try to find them and put them in my salad.

I also need to do more research on good sources of fibro that will give me high amounts of fiber so that I won't have anymore constipation issues due to my meds.