Can a bad tooth do harm?

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by tandy, Mar 20, 2007.

1. tandy

tandy New Member

Hi all~

Last year I was told I needed alot of dental work done,...to which I have been doing the last 6 months.
    (Hate it,..flare everytime!)

anyways~ One tooth in the back,a molar,.. can't be saved and needs to be pulled. Its been supposedly needing to be pulled for about a yr now but I have no pain with it at all. So,..i've been waiting untill it NEEDS to be pulled.
    Can this be a bad thing???
    I mean,...can a decaying tooth leak toxins into us?

Thanks for your help :)
    Tandy

2. Cinderbug

Cinderbug New Member

Hi,
    Not to alarm you but as a nurse I should tell you that many heart valve infections that I saw when I used to work in critical care originated from tooth infections.

As a patient your post hit a nerve because my entire CFS ordeal began from a tooth infectiona 1 1/2 years ago. The left side of my face swelled up so bad that I could not open my mouth and could not swallow. CT scans showed an abcess under the floor of my mouth (it had migrated there from my molar). I spent a week on intense IV antibiotics which in turn made me vulnerable to a severe intestinal infection which I caught in the hospital.

The worst part is that I had just had a dental check up a month before including X-rays. This infection was missed and a couple months after my hospitalization the tooth became very infected again (this time I had pain, first time I did not) and it was pulled.

Though all of my infections are now gone I never recovered my strength or stamina and was dx with CFS (I already had fibro). and subsequently lost by ability to hold a job due to illness.

Sorry so long, just like I said, it struck a nerve with me! This whole ordeal started with a tooth for me!

Moral : NEVER ignore a dental infection.

GOOD LUCK
    [This Message was Edited on 03/20/2007]
    [This Message was Edited on 03/20/2007]
  3. kjfms

kjfms Member