Can an over-achiever ever find peace of mind?

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by Valentina, Sep 15, 2003.

1. Valentina

Valentina New Member

Hi Everyone!

I'm new here, and am thrilled to have found a community of people who can actually relate to what I am going through. I'm 29 (I'll be 30 next month), and I have had severely disabling Fibromyalgia for 3 years. Before I got sick, I was the epitome of the quintessential type "A" personality. I graduated at the top of my class with every honor from UC BERKELEY. In my last semester, I took 22 units (15 units is a normal load) and wrote an Honors Thesis. I have worked since I was 10 years old (I started with babysitting and went from there)- I even worked full-time throughout High School. I've always been an independent and capable person.

When I got sick in 2000, I was no longer the superstar Academic and Artist (I have an academic degree but I am also a Fine Art Photographer and Sculptor)who was looking forward to graduate school and had a bright future ahead of her. Instead, I was a woman who had horrifying pain in every single part of her body and couldn't even move her fingers without crying. I felt like my whole life was taken from me - just as things were finally going so well!

I was misdiagnosed for more than a year, and my symptoms got alarmingly worse. I dealt with more incompetence, bureaucracy, ignorance, nastiness, and lack of empathy than I thought was possible for one person to face in an entire lifetime. My family is VERY toxic (long, long story that reads like some awful novel you buy in the supermarket - full of disfunction, abuse, misery, and shocking details), so when I got sick, they showed their worst sides (to say the least).