Cardiac appt results

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by mbofov, Mar 2, 2012.

1. mbofov

mbofov Active Member

I just got back from the cardiologist and my heart is great, no sign of plaque or anything. I've been eating like a monk for many years mainly for my weight (no fried foods or sugar etc.) so I guess it's paying off, even though I can't exercise.

He totally dismissed my abnormal impedance cardiography test I had a couple of years ago, the results of which are consistent with CFS (see Arnold Peckerman's article re impedance cardiography - you can google it).

Dr. Gruenn, the L.A. doctor who I hope to get the peptide injections from, had told me to get a cardiac workup just to cover all the cases. I thought my heart was pretty good overall, although I do believe I have a version of POTS and low blood volume, again consistent with the IC exam, but none of that shows up on the regular tests.

They did an ultrasound of my carotid arteries, echocardiogram of my heart and a "chemical" stress test, where they inject a potassium analog (I think?) instead of a treadmill test. I passed everything just fine, although I was crashed for two days afterwards. But that meant nothing to the cardiologist, like almost every other doctor I've seen.

He told me to keep up the exercise (although I had just told him 3 days ago that I don't and can't exercise due to CFS) and come back and see him in a year, which I probably won't do.

Anyways, I am glad it's all okay. It just would have been nice if he had listened to me, but I wasn't really expecting it.

I had to get blood drawn today for some labs for Dr. Gruenn and will see him on March 15, and hopefully will get a peptide injection that day.

2. Elisa

Elisa Member

Hi Mary,

That is great news...I know what you mean about the doctors not hearing you. But you have a positive attitude about it!