Carpal Tunnel

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by PITATOO, Nov 3, 2005.

1. PITATOO

PITATOO Member

I have just been diagnosed with another one. Severe carpal tunnel. It has been bad for many years, the numbness. Now the pain part has really set in. I order some gloves that have a splint. I have also ordered an ergo keyboard for work. I am a programmer and this is my lively hood. The Dr. said I have neruopathy because of it and atrophy of the muscles between my index finger and thumb. I was wondering if anyone else is dealing with this in addition to FMS or CFDIS and what can you take for it. I heard of taking B6. I already use injectible B12 am going to ask my Dr. to prescribe a B-Complex injectible. Not sure what other supplements might help. He is hesitant at surgery because I have had it so long the damage is probably already done and might now work. Plus I would be layed up for quite a while. He has me lined up for more tests for EMG(something like that) to check for nerve conductivitiy. And that may determine if surgery may help. Near the end of the day at work my right hand goes completely numb and I can't tell what keys I am pressing on the keyboard. Drives me crazy. Computers have been my only career for 22+ years. Don't know what I would do if I could not type. Thanks, Bobby
    [This Message was Edited on 11/04/2005]
  2. spacee

spacee Member

You may be able to get you doc to try Benicar 4 times a day. Benicar is a med for highblood pressure but when used 4 times a day, it greatly reduces inflammation.

I take the benicar but have had to take a couple of "breaks" from it for different reasons. When I stop, my carpel tunnel comes back with a VENGENCE.

Hope you are able to find something that helps!

Spacee
  3. ladybird1

ladybird1 New Member

I had EMG test and was diagnosed with start of carpal tunnel.
    At work an ergonomic assessment has been done. Have ergonomic keyboard and vertical mouse now, plus foot rest.