CFIDS or Lyme?

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by greatgran, Sep 28, 2010.

1. greatgran

greatgran Member

How do you know the difference when all lyme test come back negative?

I have a FB friend who was dx with cfids now chronic lyme and is going to go through 52 weeks of IVantibiotic treatment. She had been on strong oral antibiotics for two years. She went to a Lyme doc in PA .. Not cfids but lyme. Makes one wonder.

I have searched the web for a lyme doc close to me but I am not good at searching. Just wondering how you know for sure if its cfs or lyme.. Any symptoms different? I have no know bite, nor fever, but when you read about symptoms they are so much alike.

2. Nanie46

Nanie46 Moderator

I think the best way to find out if you have lyme is to see a lyme literate MD.

Did you have any luck with the LLMD names I sent you?

Either way, it is likely one or more infectious agents that are making you so ill.

It is not a coincidence that so many people who were first diagnosed with CFS/CFIDS or FM later found out they had lyme (and coinfections).

You could waste the rest of your life debating this and never get well.
  3. greatgran

greatgran Member

No, I didn't have any luck finding a LLMD. I thought I had found one in NC but the doc has relocated in the Washington DC area. The other is only in infectious disease control and they will not see you without a referral. The symptoms are so similar I often wonder. I did order a testing kit from igenex but so far no doctor will help me with this, since my lyme test have all been negative.

I will be seeing a new doc in a couple of weeks (the one I had no longer accepts medicare) after I get established and see how she reacts to cfids etc. then I am going to ask her to help me with the lyme test through igenex.. or maybe she will know a LLMD not to far away.

You just know when your body feels like it has an infection, even though you have a normal white count and no elevated temp.

4. Nanie46