CFS or FMS? Who's affected by heat/humidity/fatigue?

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by Bigfoot, Nov 4, 2002.

1. Bigfoot

Bigfoot New Member

I'm new to this yet and just can't figure this out. I've been very sensitive to heat and humidity for years, but I also have more pain in my joints on cold or stormy days. Is this common with FMS or CFS? Is there really any difference between the two? My doctor gave me an "unsure" diagnosis or FMS, but from what I've been reading, heat doesn't affect FMS. Does anyone else have this problem? Also, are MAJOR fatigue,sleep problems,ringing in the ears and overall pain common in both?
  2. Bigfoot

Bigfoot New Member

I'm new to this yet and just can't figure this out. I've been very sensitive to heat and humidity for years, but I also have more pain in my joints on cold or stormy days. Is this common with FMS or CFS? Is there really any difference between the two? My doctor gave me an "unsure" diagnosis or FMS, but from what I've been reading, heat doesn't affect FMS. Does anyone else have this problem? Also, are MAJOR fatigue,sleep problems,ringing in the ears and overall pain common in both?
  3. teach6

teach6 New Member

I have been dx'd with both CFS and FM, and I suffer from just about everything you have mentioned. To tell you the truth it's been a while since I read the details, so I'm not sure what is more apt to go with each dx, but the problem with heat is due, I believe, to problems with the autonomic system.

Autonomic problems can go with either dx, as I understand it. I have big time dysautonomia so I'm affected by heat cold, standing up, even sitting, and the list goes on.

I have had the ear ringing for years, before I had a clue there was something really wrong with me. The doctors I saw kept telling me there wasn't!