Chinese food - and aches

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by Brownie08, Dec 13, 2008.

1. Brownie08

Brownie08 New Member

I think I remember postings on increased aches and pains after eating Chinese food...aka MSG Does that make sense? I had Chinese last night for lunch today - and I feel aweful. I have been in a major flare up this past month - but for some reason my aches are even more acute!!!! My left side feels like a knife is sticking out of head pressure is jaw is aching...oh what fun!!!

2. acer2000

acer2000 New Member

MSG can cause problems, but chinese food is also loaded with soy. Soy is one of the top food allergens, even in people who aren't sick like us. Have you ever been tested for food allergies?
  3. Brownie08

Brownie08 New Member

You guys - the bells are going off in my head.
    I have been eating and drinking soy for the past several months.
    I have stopped eating meat - thinking that is a good thing...and my symptoms seem to be getting worse. What is new is that I have increased my soy intake by 100%. Could I be making myself sicker?? I am going to eliminate all soy for the next few weeks and see if that helps. Thanks for this eye opening moment.

4. acer2000

acer2000 New Member

Yeah I really don't see a reason to stop eating meat altogether. You obviously shouldn't eat highly processed meat (organic if you can afford it), or reallty fatty meat like bacon, but lean/clean meat in moderation is good for you. Its hard to get enough protien without eating meat. Tofu (soy), eggs, fish (toxins), there aren't that many options that most people aren't allergic to...
  5. TeaBisqit

TeaBisqit Member

Look these up on the net, there are many, many sites about how bad these two are for our bodies.

MSG causes all kinds of things and can make our illness much worse.