chiropractor do they do any good

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by leastacy, Dec 8, 2005.

1. leastacy

leastacy New Member

Hello this is my first time posting a topic but my question is my husband has been diagonsed with FM and he was wondering if a chiropractor is worth the effort of getting out of the house and going to see. He is in a lot of pain and was just wondering if seeing a chiropractor would help any with the pain.

thanks
    lea
  2. caroleye

caroleye New Member

This is a tricky question because it depends on what's causing the pain. If it's muscular, or something is "out" e.g. my back/hip will go out occasionally & I'll have it "shifted" back and the pain will go. But I don't do "cracking".

The other piece is that you find a really good chiropractor. They are far & few between, like most health practitioners. If you could google photostimulator (that's a new pain machine), that would be a good place to start because he/she could use that machine as well (light therapy for pain).

LIGHT**********carole
  3. leastacy

leastacy New Member

Thanks for the info.

Lea
  4. Pianowoman

Pianowoman New Member

I do get help from my chiropractor. He syas that he cannot cure the fibro but that if my spine stays in alignment, I will have less pain. I think poor posture from fatigue as well as inactivity contribute to misalignment. I just go when I need to.
    It wouldn't hurt to get an assessment but you may have to try more than one. Ask around. Is there a local support group that might have an idea?

Good Luck
    Kathy

5. gvmeabrk

gvmeabrk New Member