Chlorine and your health....

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by ssMarilyn, Jul 12, 2003.

1. ssMarilyn

ssMarilyn New Member

I found this info in some of my thyroid books. I've decided to get a shower filter and am looking at several different models. I have been drinking filtered water since 1998. Now if I could just figure out what to do with the bathroom sink water where I wash my face and brush my teeth?

Chlorine and your Health

Cancer, Heart Attacks, and Skin Problems

Scientific studies have linked chlorine and chlorination byproducts to cancer of the bladder, liver, stomach, rectum, and colon, as well as heart disease, arteriosclerosis, anemia, high blood pressure, allergic reactions, and skin conditions. Bladder and Rectal Cancer Chlorine used to purify drinking water supplies across the nation is linked to at least 4200 cases of bladder cancer and 6500 cases of rectal cancer a year, according to a new study that calls for safer purification methods. People who drink chlorinated water are at a 21 percent higher risk of developing bladder cancer and at a 38 percent higher risk of developing rectal cancer.

Heart Attacks

In 1969, Joseph M. Price, MD authored a book entitled Coronaries, Cholesterol, Chlorine, in which he linked chlorine in drinking water supplies to heart attacks. He wrote that the rate of heart attacks soared following the introduction of chlorine into the public water supply, and that heart attacks were almost unheard of in countries without chlorinated water. Dr. Price states that chlorine is the chemical catalyst that initiates damage to the arteries and the buildup of cholesterol deposits, ultimately leading to heart attacks.

Skin and Hair Problems

Chlorine wreaks havoc on skin and hair, especially when you already have sensitive skin. The chlorine in water chemically bonds with the protein in our bodies, making hair brittle and dry, and making sensitive skin dry and itchy, worsening conditions like Eczema.