Chronic cough anyone?

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by LauraLea, Jan 3, 2003.

1. LauraLea

LauraLea New Member

I have a continuous chronic chough and clearing my throat especially right after I eat or drink ANYTHING. It sounds like I’ve been smoking for 40 years. Although it doesn’t really bother me that much people are always asking if I’m catching a cold.

It also happens every time when I first lay down. My husband always asks if I’m getting sick – LOL he means other than the Fibro.

Anyone else have this????
  2. tandy

tandy New Member

and cough a little when I first get up in the morning~
    I am a smoker,so I was'nt sure if its a smokers cough???its not bad tho just a little bit.I have more of the excess mucus or something that makes me clear my throat more often than normal.I'm not sure if its related to the FM??I always thought it was sinus...post nasal drip??
    I take sudafed almost daily!!!
    Take care!!
    Tracey
  3. LauraLea

LauraLea New Member

I don't smoke I'm not sure if I made it sound like I do.
  4. Shirl

Shirl New Member

Yes, I am always clearing my throat, when I wake up, either a nap or in the morning, I do cough.

I do have a post nasal drip nights. I changed my sheets and pillow cases to all cotton, and I wash them in Woolite only. This has helped a great deal with the laying down bit.

Almost all kinds of cleaning materials, going in stores, especially Home Depot, Low's, and purfume counters will cause me a fit of coughing a constant fhlegm that won't come up but causes a tickling in the throat.

My husband finally gave up asking if I was coming down with something, this has been going on for 20 years now!

I think a lot of FM/CFS's have this problem.

Shalom, Shirl
  5. Teddifromindy

Teddifromindy New Member

Dear LauraLea,