CO Q 10

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by MyLilSnooks, Oct 30, 2005.

1. MyLilSnooks

MyLilSnooks New Member

Has anyone taken CoEnzymeQ10? My rheum last week told me I need to take 150 mg daily for pain. Any side effects??? Any comments??? thank you !!! Carol
  2. jfrustrated

jfrustrated New Member

I was on normal level doses for about 3 months when I was first diagnosed with CFS. Had no effect - except on my wallet. However, I hope you find it helps you. Different things help different people
  3. dakotasweett

dakotasweett New Member

It is a vitamin-like substance that is present in all parts of the body, although the amount made by the body decreases with age, thus needs supplemented as we age (especially over age 50). Some food sources include: fish, beef, peanuts, and spinach. I've never heard of any side effects- but I am not an expert by any means. I have heard of people taking up to 300mg daily (and I know you can purchase up to 300mg at vitamin stores). I know quite a few people who take it for the benefits on the heart and circulatory system (including my mom)- but I don't know any who use it for fibro or chronic fatigue although the nutrition book I have does suggest it for those, it says "improves oxygenation of tissues and enhances effectiveness of immune system" in relation to fibro.

Don't know if that helps, but you could always try a search online to see if you can find any side effects.

-Vanessa
  4. Pianowoman

Pianowoman New Member

I took 120 mg /day for quite a while and now have gone to 300 mg to see if it makes a difference. As far as I know it can help with energy at the cellular level but I have never heard of to being used for pain. I am seeing a bit of an improvement but I'm doing other things too so I'm not yet prepared to say that 300 mg. is the answer.
    It is expensive but we have good sales and I stock up.

Kathy.
  5. jerseybunny

jerseybunny New Member