Computer problems again

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by tansy, Sep 10, 2008.

1. tansy

tansy New Member

Hi everyone

The computer I was loaned is very close to reaching the end of it's useful life so I will only be around when I can either get it working temporarily or can fund a new one.

Aside from losing access to the internet and facilities like this it is hampering my UK advocacy work that is gaining momentum atm.

And think our govt is happy to believe chronic illness provides us with a secondary financial gain; as a graduate professional I'd be doing well financially instead of constantly having to juggle my limited financial resources as we all do.

tc, Tansy
  2. mezombie

mezombie Member

I'm so sorry to hear this. And having this happen just as you're making progress with UK advocacy really is bad news!

I hope the computer fairy brings you a new one soon!

3. tansy

tansy New Member

with regard to my advocacy work; I really need to source research papers and articles. Though it's working on and off atm I cannot copy my files to a CD.

The person who loaned me this computer knew this would happen eventually and it's not considered financially viable to repair.

Yes I certainly need a computer fairy. When I have some time and energy to spare I will see if there are any options available to me.

tc, Tansy
  4. aftermath

aftermath New Member

My graduate degree is in computer info systems.

What you need to do is get a Windows CD (you can borrow one from someone) and re-install Windows. It will make the machine function as good as new (actually better, as you will be loading new drivers).

It's not a difficult process-you can find info on the Web on how to do it by searching Google.

The key is to first BACK UP EVERYTHING ON THE MACHINE. You will lose everything when you format the drive.

Unless the problem is a broken part (less than 5% of cases), the results will be great.
  5. Spinetti

Spinetti New Member